History Essay Competitions 2012

Richard H. Shryock (NLM)

Graduate students are invited to enter the Shryock Medal Essay Contest. The medal honors Richard Harrison Shryock (1893–1972), a pioneer among historians interested in the history of medicine. The award is given for an outstanding, unpublished essay by a single author on any topic in the history of medicine. The essay (maximum 12,000 words, including endnotes) must be the result of original research or show an unusual appreciation and understanding of problems in the history of medicine. In particular, the committee will judge essays on the quality of writing, appropriate use of sources, and ability to address themes of historical significance.

The winner will be invited to attend the 2018 meeting of the Association, Thursday- Sunday, May 10-13, 2018, in Los Angeles, CA, where the medal will be conferred. Reasonable travel expenses for the winner will be provided, as well as a two-year complimentary membership in the AAHM. If the Shryock Medal Committee also selects an essay for honorable mention, its author will receive a certificate and a two-year complimentary membership in the AAHM.

This competition is open to students enrolled in a graduate program in history or a related discipline at the time of submission. Medical students who have been enrolled in such a program should submit their essays to the Shryock competition. No student should submit an essay to both the Osler and Shryock competitions in the same year. Essays that have been awarded an Honorable Mention are not eligible for resubmission.

Additional information may be obtained from the Shryock Medal Committee chair: Adam Biggs albiggs@mailbox.sc.edu. Essays must be postmarked or submitted electronically via e-mail (which is the preferred method of submission) no later than 16 January 2018.

Shryock Medal Essay Guidelines

Past Shryock Medal Winners

Shryock Medal Committee, 2017-18

Adam Biggs, Chair
Lara Friedensfeld
Susan Lamb
Stephen Mawdsley

Talented young writers from high schools across Texas were honored at UIL’s Barbara Jordan Historical Essay Competition and the Latino History Essay Competition on Wednesday, May 25 at UT Austin.

The annual competition encourages students to research, interview and write about African Americans and Latino/as in their local communities, preserving their elders’ oral histories and inspiring exchange between the generations.

Winning essays are archived in the Briscoe Center for American History and the Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection at UT Austin. The Briscoe Center was currently under construction, however the students were able to tour the Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection, where their essays will be available for scholarly research.

“When you see the incredible collection that is housed at the Benson Center, I hope you’ll think about the contribution that you made,” said UIL Program Administrator David Trussell in his opening remarks. “Through your work you have joined a very important effort to shine the spotlight on the all too often overlooked contributions and accomplishments of African American and Latino citizens in Texas.”

Founded in 1995 as an event sponsored by The University of Texas at Austin, the Barbara Jordan Historical Essay Competition moved to its new home with UIL Academics in 2011-2012. Below is a listing of the top six finalists.

  • First Place – Carolyn Plein, Leander High School
  • Second Place – Katrina Garcia, Center High School
  • Third Place – Bryson Urquidez, Weatherford High School
  • Fourth Place – Owen Walker, Burleson Centennial High School
  • Fifth Place – Erika Hernandez, Harlingen High School South
  • Sixth Place – Ishita Neeraj, Midland Lee Freshman High School

Founded in 2011 by the DDCE, the Latino History Essay Competition moved to UIL Academics in 2012. Below is a listing of the top six finalists.

  • First Place – Bhavesh Sayal, Cypress Falls High School
  • Second Place – Valentin Fernandez, Kaufman High School
  • Third Place – Hemma Uzoh, Harlingen South High School
  • Fourth Place – Cristina Trevino, Ann Richards School
  • Fifth Place – Victoria Quintanilla, PSJA Early College High School
  • Sixth Place – Micaela Garza Keyes, Harlingen South High School


0 thoughts on “History Essay Competitions 2012”


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *